Welcome to the Utah Child Protection Registry, an official Utah.gov website. This site uses adaptive technology. Instructions are provided within the: Accessibility Policy. Skip Navigation
Utah Child Protection Registry Logo

FILE A COMPLAINT

The Utah Child Protection Registry is now active. Senders of certain adult-oriented messages should scrub their lists every 30 days in order to comply with the law.

Marketers are forbidden from advertising certain products and services to children under Utah law. Once an address is registered, senders of messages that advertise certain adult-oriented products or services are required to remove the address from their mailing lists within 30 days.

You may file a complaint against any marketers who send prohibited messages to an address you have registered by filling out the Complaint Form on the Utah Division of Consumer Protection web site.

If you use Microsoft Outlook or Outlook Express, you may download our button addins to submit complaints quickly.




Under the law, marketers are prohibited from sending messages for products or services that are illegal under Utah law for children to purchase. These include, but are not necessarily limited to:
  • Alcoholic Beverages or Products
  • Any Form of Tobacco
  • Pornographic Materials
  • Illegal Drugs
  • Gambling Services
  • Prostitution
Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. 13-39-302(1), parents of children who receive messages that are in violation of the law may also file civil lawsuits against the senders of such messages on their children's behalf. These suits may seek actual damages or $1,000 per message plus costs and reasonable attorneys' fees.