The Utah Child Protection Registry is now active. Senders of adult-oriented messages should scrub their lists at least every 30 days in order to comply with the law. You may apply for access through the Registry Compliance website.
The administration and enforcement of the Child Protection Registry Law (Title 13 Chapter 19 | html) is informed by the associated Administrative Rules (html). Senders should also refer to the policy statements issued by the Division of Consumer Protection with regard to the Utah Child Protection Registry law (pdf).
Under the law: "A person may not send, cause to be sent, or conspire with a third party to send a communication to a contact point or domain that has been registered for more than 30 calendar days ... if the communication ... advertises a product or service that a minor is prohibited by law from purchasing; or ... contains or advertises material that is harmful to minors."
The covered categories of adult-oriented messages include, but are not necessarily limited to:
Alcoholic Beverages or Products
Any Form of Tobacco
Marketers who fail to comply with the law face potential felony charges and civil and criminal penalties from $1,000 to $5,000 per message sent in violation of the law. Civil suits may be filed by the Utah attorney general, the Utah Division of Consumer Protection, Internet service providers, and parents on behalf of their children.